Pig Tractor

So… eventually Don is going to forbid me to surf the Internet.

I saw a picture of a pig tractor and thought, “We could do that!” – so many of our projects begin that way.

screen-shot-2016-11-01-at-5-30-44-pm

Here’s the link to the original post. I think it’s a book advert or something, and be warned, the text does not match the picture. But that was okay with me because I find a picture so much easier to work from.

It just so happened that on the same day that I saw this I also saw a Craigslist ad for weaner pigs at about half the usual cost! Sometimes you just can’t fight the universe.

That same evening found me in the barn sorting through more of the woodlot wood. That place is turning out to be a real blessing… or maybe an enabler? Depends on which of us you ask I guess.

It took us about 3 days of afternoons and one Saturday morning to complete. It would’ve gone quicker but I have to stop and ruminate on each step. “Is that where that should go? Maybe over here would be better” and so on.

Eventually we wound up with a moveable pen with an attached DIY self-feeder and water trough. It all moves. There are eyebolts on each end that we attach a chain to and pull with the tractor.

I have a video of us moving it out to the pasture but I can’t seem to get it uploaded to YouTube. Bummer. We finished the tractor on Saturday morning and by 1 o’clock that afternoon we had these guys in it. Our little farm now has bees, chickens, rabbits, and pigs. Remember how I said I needed to plan better? Yeah, that’s not working out so well. Hahaha!

Hope your October went well.

3 thoughts on “Pig Tractor

Leave a Reply

