Bacon Bacon Bacon Rabbits

I always scroll back a little when I get on here to post just in case I’m repeating myself too often. Then I promptly forget and go ahead and post whatever. I’m a free form poster.

I think I mentioned starting some bacon. If not, I started some bacon. Today was smoking day! Woo-hoo! But wait… no journey worth taking is not without challenges right?

Wavy lines swish across your screen as your author has a flashback…

img_3103

It all started with this Costco pork belly. (I knew I had mentioned this!)

img_3118

Add equal parts salt and brown sugar and weird, miraculous stuff starts to happen. This gross, bloody, juice being one of them. If you dump the juice and replace the rub for a few days though the juice eventually stops.

img_3162

This is after 10 days. Truthfully, that was probably too long but I am so scared of poisoning us that I erred on the side of caution. The change is amazing. That floppy thing in the first picture turned into solid hunks of meat that you could pick up by one corner.

img_3177

Rinse the cure off and let dry for 24 hours, more or less, and it’s ready to cold smoke. What? You don’t have a cold smoker? Just one of those little Brinkmann bullet looking thingys? It’s time for REDNECK ENGINEERING! (My favorite.)

img_3185

It’s amazing what you can accomplish with a shipping crate and a dryer hose. 🙂 The crate looks more important that it really is. The top of my smoker is basically just a big tube with a  lid. Its purpose is just to capture smoke. I didn’t want to drill a hole into the side of my smoker so I cut a hole in the side and bottom (top) of the crate. The smoke travels from the little grill through the dryer hose and up into the smoker. I was stunned that this crap actually worked! And it worked well too.

img_3192

This photo doesn’t really do it justice. It was puffing like a Tommy Chong devotee. After four hours I pulled it out.

img_3205

It didn’t pick up a lot of color – I think that maybe I let it dry too long before smoking – but it smells like Hickory heaven. It’ll go into the fridge tonight and get sliced and frozen tomorrow. We could if we wanted just hang it and it would be fine but Don doesn’t want meat hanging in the house. I just don’t understand that.

But what about the rabbits in the title you ask?

Well, while I was out in the barn making sure it didn’t burn down I thought I might as well do something productive. So I worked on the rabbit hutch. I might have mentioned, or maybe not, converting these shipping crates into a rabbit hutch.

img_3094

I’m pretty sure I did since the picture has already been uploaded. I’ve been working on it every time I get a chance since then. The only thing I have left to do is build some poop trays.

 

img_3203

The hardware and the wire are new, everything else was repurposed from the woodlot at work. It should not have taken me so long to build except I was figuring it out as I went. Regardless, it is all but done and not a moment too soon. The rabbits will arrive next Saturday!

I wonder what smoked rabbit would taste like…

Was that in poor taste?

Be well my friends.

One thought on “Bacon Bacon Bacon Rabbits

  1. The rule for bacon: 5 days curing per inch of thickness. Hot smoking (should be 165 degrees in the middle) is the way to go with all pork. This will ensure a safe long lasting product. (You’ll also be happier with the color) 😊

Leave a Reply

