Just A Weekend

One of the perks of working where I do is the “woodlot”. The parts we build and the parts we ship are pretty big. Consequently the shipping material that comes into the plant is pretty big as well. We get first shot at almost everything before the wood recycler takes it.

I take full advantage of the benefit.

Friday I had Don bring schlep-truck to the plant and I loaded up this:

img_3135

Saturday I spent a few hours pulling nails and got this:

img_3149

That’s fourteen 14′ 2X6s, two 12′ 2X6s, and about thirty 8′ & 10′ ones as well. It was just seriously awesome! I certainly don’t mind trading my time for bounty, plus the wood gets more use instead of becoming pulp. I tell myself that anyway.

Today I used another shipping crate from there to make a bigger brooder. The 19 chicks we hatched were just getting too large for our original contraption.

img_3154

Just two more weeks until they move to their new home but for now they think they’re living in the Taj Mahal.

As I’m typing this the second presidential debate is on the television. I have purposely avoided politics on this blog because that’s not the point of this blog. But I just gotta say, “Thank goodness I bottled hard cider today cause I think it’s gonna come in handy!”

img_3161

Be well.

2 thoughts on “Just A Weekend

Leave a Reply

