Lazy Sunday Walkabout

Just some photos and thoughts while I basically kill time until Game of Thrones. Hahaha.

IMG_2623

It amazes me how much chickens love grass. I mean LOVE grass. I’m still working on where to put a door to the outside for them so for now we bring the grass to them.

IMG_2634

Don shares a magical bond with the birds, including the rooster John Henry. The change from yellow fuzzball to almost grown was unnervingly fast. At least they’ve stopped totally freaking out when we come around. Some days the brooder seemed mostly like an asylum.

IMG_2641

These are beaked hazelnuts. I was beginning to think I had misidentified the trees until I discovered these today. They’re just really good at hiding.

IMG_2644

A hazelnut tree is less of a tree and more of a shrub. I wonder how many of these get dug up because they look like scrub brush?

IMG_2645

It seems much cooler and greyer this year than last. It’s almost the end of May and I still wear a jacket in the mornings. It’s been running 45 to 48 degrees when I leave for work. This is still unnatural to a Texas boy.

IMG_2647

This is Salal. It’s a wild shrub up here that is a distant relative to the blueberry. It seems to be doing really well this year. We moved in too late last year to take advantage of it. I’m looking forward to trying it.

IMG_2648

Unfortunately as with so many wild foods, the Salal is in the fence line. I will have to eventually cut it back toward the road. I’m sure it has survived worse.

IMG_2650

This is one of the six blueberry bushes we planted. We might get enough berries for a couple of pies this year!

IMG_2655

Our piddly little garden. We added a couple of tomatoes and peppers to the potatoes. The red potatoes (on the right) already have blooms!? What the hay? I’m trying to will them to grow more before they start that crap.

IMG_2657

Just some wildflowers behind the barn. The big leafed plant with the blue flowers is comfrey. It was really beautiful a few weeks ago.

IMG_2659

More yellow.

IMG_2661

And yet more yellow.

I am constantly amazed at the changing life around here.

3 thoughts on “Lazy Sunday Walkabout

  1. Pingback: Lazy Sunday Walkabout – Creating a Home(Stead) – WORLD ORGANIC NEWS

Leave a Reply

