Since Last We Spoke

My goodness friends it’s been such a whirlwind around here I don’t remember when I last posted anything.

I remember tempting fate and then blowing out my back and consequently losing two weeks of productive time.

Since then we’ve managed to finish the chicken coop and get the bees installed. I also planted a patch of potatoes because, well, they had seed potatoes at the feed store and how can you pass those up?

Picture dump.

IMG_2376

Remember how we started with this?  Well, now it looks like this.

IMG_2461

It was like building a square inside a rhombus. I invented new words while we worked on it. Above is the South end, lots of light. Those are windows we salvaged from the “mudroom” demo on the house.

IMG_2505

The East wall is two large doors so the whole thing can be opened for cleaning… like this.

IMG_2503

We put the nest boxes on the West wall so they are inside the alleyway and we can gather eggs without getting rained on.

IMG_2511

There’s another human-sized door inside the run. Eventually, the chicken door will be in this door – we’re keeping them in the coop until the run is totally fenced and then their door will remain open. Again to save us rain exposure.

IMG_2507

We’re trying to make the coop and the run as critter-proof as humanly possible. That way it will be less maintenance for us.IMG_2513

Hard to believe the exponential growth of chickens. They seem to enjoy their new digs. I think they’re happy to be out of that brooder.

We really bit off a bit too much trying to finish the coop and finish getting ready for the bees as well. Thank goodness we only had top bars left to cut.

IMG_2540

I went and picked up our bee packages yesterday and it was such a beautiful day that we were able to install them as soon as I got back. I have to say that the ride home was not nearly as nerve wracking as I had expected. The gentle hum of the bees was actually a little soporific.

IMG_2542

The install was so laid back I was amazed.

IMG_2537

Only one mishap. The queen in the second package managed to escape her cage but luckily she fell right into the hive. I couldn’t very well catch her again so I just hurriedly dumped the other bees in there. I think she’ll be alright, she had already been with the package for two days. I guess we’ll see.

IMG_2533

I’ll tell ya, there’s not much better than a clear spring day in Washington state.

This little patch is the only garden work I’ve found time to do… so far. But if worse comes to worse we’ll at least have eggs, potatoes, onions, and maybe a little honey!

IMG_2456

Friends, I am so happy and so tired. Hope your spring is going well.

 

4 thoughts on “Since Last We Spoke

  1. Our queen crawled down between the frames last night and the most stressful bit seems to be over. Kinda cool how calm they are really – 10,000 or however many thousand bees 3 pounds is. Again, good luck! Your hives look cool as well your coop. Congrats!

      1. So, you’re interested in the secret lives of bees, eh?
        I forget when they said we should open them up and inspect for the first time. We’ll likely do it sometime this weekend. You’re right, it should be interesting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

