Long Overdue Letter

That’s what this post feels like.

Where to begin?  Well, we wound up having to order parts to get the truck fixed. Don went and picked them up yesterday so today I will start putting everything back together. As you read this the back end of the truck is basically in pieces in the barn. It’s been a real learning experience. YouTube has been a surprisingly great help. You can find out just about anything there.

As if we didn’t have enough mechanical challenges I broke the tractor this week.  Hahaha, well, just a belt. I was mowing in the woods and managed to poke a stick up into the fan belt which immediately broke. Then while I was moving the generator/alternator (whatever) to get the new belt on I managed to short the circuit and blow a fuse. (I know, I should’ve disconnected the battery but… ugh.) But it’s back together and we overcame. Yes, we overcame.

We also increased the farm family last week by 10.

IMG_2359

Unfortunately, one of them didn’t last long – not because of their living arrangements I must hasten to point out! They only stayed in the purple tote for the first day while I set up  the brooder on the back porch.

IMG_2371

I’m pretty proud of this brooder. It’s a repurposed shipping container from work. I cut out the lid and added hardware cloth and a lip so it would sit securely on the box. That’s it. It was seriously close to free which tickles me almost as pink as that radiant heat lamp thingy. Here it is without the top.

IMG_2366

Since we decided to get some use out of the back porch until it’s remodel, which honestly may be years away :), I made use of some of the other goodies from the woodlot at work to make these:

IMG_2369Yes, boring old shelves or as I like to call it, The Wall O’Food. As a side note that bag of round things is the walnuts we were able to save last fall. We picked up about five times this amount but didn’t clean them correctly and they wound up molding. There seems to be a lesson everywhere around here.

Anyway, it’s been a productive couple of weeks. All in all I’m satisfied with our output and overwhelmed with what’s left to do as spring comes along. It’s not been all drudgery though, Don figured out how to duplicate the mexican pizza from Taco Bell.

IMG_2357

OMG, this was good!! 🙂

Hope you are doing well.

Leave a Reply

