Twenty Years Later

15 years ago we decided that on our 20 year anniversary we would take a trip. We hoped it would be A Room With a View trip and feared it might be a Planes, Trains, and Automobiles trip. It fell somewhere in between… just as it should.

My husband and I have never forgotten to be in love, even during the rough patches, so I can’t say that we fell in love again but I did realize that without him I would have never ventured so far from home. There are so many ways he makes me a better, braver, kinder person.

Amidst all of the history, and pageantry, and sometimes ostentatious display I think I found some spiritual truth. (I can’t help it, I’m a seeker and it’s what we do.) But mostly I had one of the best vacations just being a tourist with my husband.

If I can work out some meaning I may share it later but for now I wanted to share a few of the 1300 pictures we took (how did people travel before digital photography??? hahaha).

IMG_3654
Christmas lights in Dublin.
IMG_1993
Christ Church Cathedral in Dublin.
IMG_3953
Saint Patrick’s Cathedral in Dublin.
IMG_4544
Buckingham Palace Road where we strolled in the evening in London.
IMG_4229
The London Eye at night from the River Thames.
IMG_4193
Part of the night skyline from the River Thames.
IMG_4163
The Tower of London.
IMG_4117
Big Ben in the evening.
IMG_2156
The River Thames at night.
Leave a Reply

