The Mountain In The Dark

Tonight we had a goulash made with tomatoes we grew followed by homemade pound cake topped with ice cream and glazed pears from our trees. Then we sat IMG_1832outside and watched the stars come out. It was a very good Friday evening.

I’ve been fascinated by the stars since we’ve moved out here. It was only tonight that I realized I haven’t lived anywhere dark enough to really appreciate the stars for a long time.

I remember nights in the Oklahoma panhandle where the stars were sprinkled like sugar across the sky and my aunt pointing out constellations. Now I can only find the big and little dipper. But I will find more.

I’m finding myself more comfortable in the darkness.

Leave a Reply

