Autumn Fruit Jam

While we were living in the trailer with just a very small garden plot I bought this book: 51u+Z6KaI4L._SX338_BO1,204,203,200_The Complete Book of Small-Batch Preserving

I don’t have an Amazon affiliate account so feel free to click or not click the link above.

At the time I was thinking we’d only ever have small batches to put up and it’s such a pain to try to divide big canning recipes that this book would be handy.

I was disappointed that it only covered water bath canning but I guess that’s probably what most small batch canners would need.

Anyway, enough of that crazy back story.  The real point of all this is it came handy today when I only wanted to make a quick, small batch of something with some of the fruit around here!  Whew, so many words to get to this point.  Hemingway would just shake his head.

Last night, lying in bed I thumbed through the recipes and found Autumn Fruit Jam which just happened to call for plums, pears, and apples.  Three fruits of which I have a plethora.

IMG_1723

This was the delicious result!

And oh my gosh it is yummy!

I doubled the recipe and it still only used 10 plums, 2 apples, and 2 pears but at least we’ll have a little taste of our first year’s produce later this winter.

IMG_1726It made 3 and 1/2 jars of jam.  We put the 1/2 jar in the fridge and have been “tasting” it all day.  I will be surprised if it makes it to morning.

Along with the fruit it contains cinnamon and ginger.  It tastes amazing.

Anyway, have a good night!

2 thoughts on “Autumn Fruit Jam

  1. freethnkr1965

    Thanks pioneer1718. This recipe is indeed a keeper. Another good resource for small batch canning is the Food In Jars site. She has also published a book but I can’t remember the title.

Leave a Reply

