Why I Decided To Buy The Farm

Aside from the droll play on words in the title…

When you have a dream there are two legitimate responses, pursue it or let it go.

Letting go of a dream is not the failure we suppose it is.  I let go of the dream of being an artist.  I let go of the dream of being an actor.  I don’t feel a lot of anguish over either decision.

I couldn’t let go of the dream of a small farm.  John Seymour will be my patron saint for a while.

There’s only one dream that can hurt and that is the dream you can’t let go but don’t pursue.  That dream becomes a corrosive yardstick against which your reality is constantly measured and constantly found lacking.  It slowly leaches the color out of your world.

So I bought the farm.  I bought the farm knowing full well that I was looking through rose colored glasses.  I superimposed a 1950s americana propaganda film clip over every fault and fissure and I’m okay with that.  I know this dream may fail – in fact that’s the strangest thing about this whole adventure, where I would usually  shy away from the possibility of failure I have absolutely no fear.  If in two years, or five years, or ten we move on I will do so gladly because at least I have tried.

Having tried, I am at peace with the outcome.

2 thoughts on “Why I Decided To Buy The Farm

  1. Beautiful post. Thank you for sharing. My husband are determined to by a farm in the next two years. We have a few hurtles to jump first, but we are marching toward our goal. It’s funny, how someone (ahem, me) who is a control freak, anti-chaos, want to be safe and secure and otherwise not a gambler is ready to quit or cushy corporate jobs and let caution go to the wind and dump our life savings into a farm that most likely won’t turn a profit for the first few years – if ever. But that all doesn’t matter. Because it feels right. Sometimes you have to let go of being in “control” and allow life to take it’s course. Strangely, I’m drawn to soil and chickens and compost and fulfilled by the simple act of cleaning a coop out more than any report or presentation I’ve created for my “real” job.

    1. freethnkr1965

      Hahaha! I know exactly how you feel. Truth be told I still have my corporate job and probably will keep it. The farm is for my sanity more than livelihood – although, if I can figure out a way to make it pay I will ditch the j-o-b in a heartbeat! Thank you for the kind comment.

Leave a Reply

