I Have Hope Again

No, not about school, or work, or even the sequester.  I have hope for the future of the human race.

That’s right, the human race.  Big words I know but I’ve been feeling big despair since I read that one of the last thing James Lovelock (the originator of the Gaia theory) said was it’s too late for humans.  I basically agreed with him up until a few minutes ago.  I’ve been laboring under the belief that climate change had passed the tipping point, or soon would, and that we (we being the human race) would not have to guts to give up our cars and fossil fuels in time to stop it.  It’s really been disheartening.

But I recently watched a few Youtube videos.

What?

Yes.

I suggest that you watch them too.  I’m linking to them in order of (my definition of) importance.

Allan Savory

Seth Itzkan

Article with embedded video

Here’s the long and short of it, if we manage the world’s grasslands like nature does (whack me in the head, what???) the build up of soil over one generation would sequester enough carbon to return us to pre-industrial levels… AND feed the same amount or more people!

Quick fact, nearly half of all the corn and soybeans grown in the United States goes to feed cattle in feedlots.  If we converted just the land that is now being used for that percentage of crops into permanent pasture it would support the same amount of cattle, eliminate the need for the amount of natural gas supplied fertilizer, reduce the number of diesel machines, reduce the need for that diesel, reduce the river pollution from bovine fecal run off, and reduce the carbon in the atmosphere through soil buildup.

We’ve been looking to technology when we should have been looking to Nature.  NATURE!

I fully intend to become a Holistic Management and Planned Grazing zealot.  Zealot I say!  I hope that you can put up with it.  I hope even more that you will visit the links and tell everyone that you possibly can.

Turns out it’s not too late, we were just wrong… again.

3 thoughts on “I Have Hope Again

  1. Thanks for the article. (Can’t download the videos; they stall out my old computer.) Will add a link to the guy’s blog on mine, though. Hope you’re enjoying spring there in Arizona.

    1. freethnkr1965

      Ah spring in Arizona. It lasts about week, consists of a big rain and a massive pollen dump. Or maybe that’s just my allergies sharing their misery. 🙂 It’s nice to walk out and see the tomato plants growing though! Hope you enjoy your spring as well.

Leave a Reply

