Week 5

I’m dealing with the cognitive dissonance of time moving too slowly and too quickly at the same time.  My semester is split into two 7 week sessions.  I’m in week 5, or starting week 5, or ending week 5, quite frankly I’m so brain dead I can’t figure out which.  All I know is tomorrow is the last day of Unit 5 in my one course that has nothing but a final grade – god I hate those.

I’ve finally resorted to list making to slog through all of my assignments.  Gone is any grand dream of an over-arching learning experience that expands my soul and moves me one step closer to renaissance-man status.  Now it’s just a check beside a task.

On the plus side, every time I reach meltdown status and grey matter starts to seep out of my ears I’ve started finding some mindless task like folding laundry to use as a palate cleanser for my brain.  The house is staying pretty darn clean.  I’m finding a new respect for monks that use physical labor to free their minds for contemplation of god.

Two weeks and I will be 25% complete with my goal.  Three more 7 week sessions and I will be done.  I can do this.  I can do this.

I need chocolate.

Leave a Reply

