Lost Possibilities

I just found out that an old friend committed suicide this weekend.

Our friendship ran the course that all except those very rare friendships run.  Frequent contact becomes less frequent as life intrudes until your friendship is yearly contact and warm memories.  It never seems that imperative to reconnect because reconnecting is always a possibility.

Until it isn’t.

And now it’s not.

I don’t know what was going on in his life that led to this.  Even had I known I probably wouldn’t have been able to do anything about it – we were never confidants.  But if I could I would.  I would.

Absence that yesterday was not noticeable has today become stark and sharp.

Possibility is gone.

Leave a Reply

