M.O.M. Second Week

M.O.M Second Week – 28lbs

This past Saturday was my second time at Market On The Move.  I got there at 7:30 a.m. and was gone by 8:30.  This time I got 28 pounds of produce which was just fine.  I forgot to take a sturdy container and was afraid that any more would’ve just resulted in an Ikea shopping bag full of tomatoe juice.  Besides, I think by the time I’ve made weekly trips I will have gotten way more than my hundred bucks worth.

In addition to the ubiquitous tomatoes, they had cabbage and summer squash.  I love me some squash!  Don doesn’t care for it.  He doesn’t care for cabbage either come to think of it.  More for me. 🙂

Summer Squash Ready To Freeze

There are no approved recipes for canning squash.  I don’t know why.  So I froze it.

 
Just wash the squash, remove the stem end and the blossom end and any bruised spots and slice into 1/2 slices.
 
Blanch the squash in boiling water for 3 minutes then put in an ice bath for 3 minutes and voila, freezer ready squash.
 
I tried to vacuum seal the slices but the amount of water that squished out wouldn’t let the bags seal.  I just put them in ziploc bags.
 
 
 
 
Four Pints of Tomatoe Sauce

All those tomatoes above only made these 4 little pints of sauce.  But that’s 4 more pints of sauce than we had before.

 
It was a nice test run for next time.  If they have more roma tomatoes I plan on making ketchup.
 
As a side note, I opened the first jar of the tomatoes we canned from our first trip and used them to make a quick hamburger soup.  It was great… AND we’re all still breathing.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Sauerkraut – Please Work, Please Work

This is my big experiment.

 
I shredded the  cabbage and put it away to ferment.  If it works we’ll have sauerkraut in about 6 weeks.
 
Cross your fingers.
5 thoughts on “M.O.M. Second Week

  1. If you want to freeze your squash in sealed bags, you should put the blanched squash on paper towels to dry them a bit then put them on cookie sheets in single layers and freeze them. After frozen, bag them and seal them… :o)

  2. uffda123

    you can make sun-dried tomatoes in the oven. I think I read how to do this on pintrest. If you can’t find the directions let me know and I’ll search thru the blogs I follow.

    Wendy

Leave a Reply

