A Lemon Pickle of a Day

In my carport.

This is the view out our kitchen door.

 
That dumpster means that progress is being made on the roof.  Replacing a roof is never a warm fuzzy event, especially when there’s no insurance claim involved, but we got tired of seeing little brown spots appear in our new ceiling paint.  Strangely, there’s not a lot of hail in Arizona so we’re sporting this replacement outselves.  It sucks.
 
Normally this kind of work wouldn’t require my presence but this time the we were responsible for providing the materials and I forgot to get any plywood to replace damaged decking.  I could’ve gone through the rest of my life blissfully unaware of this if not for a frantic call this morning from Don who conveniently doesn’t drive the pickup to work.  So, as much as it broke my heart, I took off from work and made a quick Home Depot run.  I had half-heartedly planned on returning to work but after the third run to pick up material decided to give it up. 
 
Lemon Marmalade

I did not waste the whole day though.

 
During the downtime between runs I managed to finish my lemon marmalade.
 
Yes, another score!
 
Oh my gosh it’s good.  Lemony.  Very, very, very lemony.  Like, lemon drop candy lemony.
 
I has more of a bitter aftertaste than the orange marmalade, but I don’t mind that.  I kind of like old fashioned flavors.
 
The 1:1:1 ration of citrus, sugar, and water I was talking about yesterday actually worked.  And I managed not to cook this batch too long so it actually has the consistency of marmalade and not candied citrus peel.
 
I also started this little experiment:
 
 
Gujarati Lemon Pickle

This is Gujarati Lemon Pickle.  It’s very labor light but it takes a month for the lemons to pickle.  What you see here is about 2 pounds of lemons in 3/4 cup salt with two teaspoons of Tumeric (sp?) mixed in.

 
I got the recipe at Evil Mad Scientist.
 
My very bestest friend at work promises me that it will be the best thing I’ve ever put in my mouth.  I guess we’ll see in a month or so.
 
I’m actually really psyched about this for two reasons.  First, I’ve always wanted to ferment something.  Ferment, not foment.  I foment stuff all the time.  Secondly, we have billions and billions of lemons or so it seems.  Last year we just let them fall off the tree.  I hate doing that.  I realize that there’s a practical limit to what you can do with lemons but still, letting something go to waste, especially something that grows in my yard just seems wrong.
 
Hopefully this will be tasty as well as interesting.
3 thoughts on “A Lemon Pickle of a Day

    1. freethnkr1965

      My feelings about alcoholic drinks… warm, fuzzy, and always a little disappointed when there’s none left. hahaha I fully intend to make some limoncello – it just sounds delicious!

  1. sue o

    You will have to let us know how it turns out. She swears by that recipe but I have never had the chance to taste it because she lives 1500 miles away!

Leave a Reply

