How To Make Sugar Video Link

Behold the humble sugar beet
Behold the humble sugar beet.

From this ugly root crop comes a big portion of this country’s sugar supply. I have often wondered how to turn this simple plant into the white sugar that sits on my shelf.

Why?

Well, I have an interest… ok an obsession with self sufficiency. I don’t know where it comes from. I certainly wouldn’t label myself a survivalist – I don’t think the country is going to collapse in the next few days, months, or years. Maybe it’s my frustrated desire to be a farmer. Or maybe it grew out of my early discovery/absolute love of fantasy novels. Every epic fantasy novel has a cottage scene. A cottage scene is always a resting scene. Sometimes it occurs at night when the honey-golden light of oil lamps and candles spills out windows decorated with lacy, homemade, well-made curtains. That light is so warm and pure you just know that the people who live there are good and safe. Usually a cottage scene involves food and drink. Crispy fowl roasts on the spit in the fireplace and a warm pie bubbles somewhere. Isn’t that somwhere you would want to stay? I certainly would and I think maybe I keep trying to recreate those feelings in my life.

Wow. That paragraph certainly got out of hand. hahaha The whole point, and I do have one, is I’ve finally found a piece of information for which I have long searched. (That’s an awkward sentence to avoid a prepositional ending.)

This video shows how to make sugar at home. It’s a lot simpler than I thought but not as straightforward as I imagined. It’s not like boiling maple sap to make maple syrup or sugar, but it’s not like you have to have equipment any more expensive than a modified juicer. I really think that with a little ingeniuty a self sufficient-ish person could make all their own sugar. How cool would that be.

2 thoughts on “How To Make Sugar Video Link

Leave a Reply

